Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

A2 Hosting has been around since 2001 and they’re most known for their page loading speeds.

In fact, they have delivered the fastest server speeds we’ve seen over the past 12 months. Also, A2 Hosting has a strong uptime, which makes their hosting service reliable.

A2 Hosting review

The hosting plans are developer-friendly, and their “anytime” money-back guarantee is a unique feature.

A significant downside is the renewal rate, which jumps up aggressively after your initial period. However, if you need a fast web hosting service at relatively cheap upfront pricing ($2.99/month) with the ability to scale with your website growth. Then A2 Hosting might be an excellent option for you. Also, their customer support is rather slow.

Here’s an in-depth look at A2 Hosting’s pros and cons after signing up, paying for their hosting service, and putting it to the test.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 5.0

SPEED: 279 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME: 99.97% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Email, Phone, Ticketing
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, Drupal, OpenCart, and Magento
FEATURES: Unlimited Bandwidth, Free SSL, Cloudflare CDN, Anycast DNS, Anytime Money-Back
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, VPS, Reseller, and Dedicated Servers
SITE TRANSFER: Single Free Site Transfer with Shared Hosting ($10/site afterward)
PRICING: Starting at $2.99/mo (renews at $8.99/mo)

Pros of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting is one of the best under-the-radar hosting companies you might not know about, but should.

Why?

Their speed is excellent, uptime is reliable, customer service is friendly, security features are plentiful, and refund policy is liberal. On top of it all, they’re even environmentally conscious.

Let’s take a detailed look at A2 Hosting’s many perks.

1. Fastest Page Loading Speed (279 ms)

You see a recurring theme when you go to A2Hosting.com – speed.

And A2 Hosting is, in fact, fast. In the past 12 months, they have delivered an amazing average speed of 279 ms.

And what’s even better?

A2 Hosting has been showing improved results monthly basis. Thus rankings #1st out 36 hosts in average speed.

A2 Hosting Speed Feb 2020 - Jan 2021
A2 Hosting average speed See stats

2. Reliable Uptime of 99.97%

On top of being lightning-fast, A2 Hosting is also quite reliable.

They had some trouble a few years ago when their uptime struggled to reach the industry-standard of 99.94%. However, they’ve turned the problems around over the past year and achieved an average of 99.97% uptime. The total downtime of their servers was a bit more than two hours.

A2 Hosting last 12-month uptime and speed
A2 Hosting average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime of A2 hosting:

  • January 2021: 99.85%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 100%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.99%
  • July 2020: 100%
  • June 2020: 99.84%
  • May 2020: 100%
  • April 2020: 100%
  • March 2020: 99.99%
  • February 2020: 100%

3. 24/7 Server Monitoring and Malware Scanning

The best way to keep your site safe is by preventing issues before they break out. But, extra scanning, firewalls, or layers of encryption can often slow users down. This isn’t the case with A2 Hosting. They can still perform at the highest level while giving you loads of additional security features.

A2 Hosting servers are protected by “HackScan,” a 24/7-monitoring service that scans for malware and other attacks.

Their data centers are also scalable, meaning you’re protected if a denial of service attack (DDoS) breaks out. These attacks attempt to flood your servers with traffic and knock your site offline. So A2 Hosting has got your back to handle sudden, unexpected surges.

4. Free Site Migrations (1-25 Depending on the Plan)

A2 Hosting offers to move a single existing website over to their servers without extra charge on all plans.

With the shared hosting plan, if you have multiple websites that you want to migrate, it costs $10/site extra. However, if you’re going with the Reseller, Dedicated, or Managed VPS hosting, you get 25 free site migrations. Their terms of service spell everything out in detail.

To take advantage of this, you need to reach out to their customer support department and give them your cPanel account credentials.

If your websites have any other control panel than cPanel, they might take a small fee for the extra work.

5. Content Management Systems (CMS) and Developer-Friendly Tools

A2 Hosting works seamlessly with all major content management systems.

You can install a WordPress, OpenCart, Drupal, Joomla, or Magento site with just a few clicks and don’t need a developer to do that.

A2 Hosting also has performance-enhancing plugins to make these CMSs faster, starting from the “Turbo Boost” plan. You get a free Cloudflare CDN with all hosting packages that further contribute to speeding things up.

A2 Hosting optimized CMS

Suppose you’re a webmaster or agency looking to host dozens of sites under one roof. In that case, A2 Hosting comes with developer-friendly tools. You can get admin-level access on servers, free server rewind backups, and multiple versions of everything from PHP to MySQL, Apache, Python, Ruby, etc.

A2 Hosting also has a website builder, appropriately named A2 SiteBuilder. However, it isn’t included in the standard hosting plans and is priced separately.

6. Anytime Money-Back Guarantee

Most hosts that we’ve reviewed offer a 30-day money-back guarantee. However, A2 Hosting has gone further than that and provides an “anytime” money-back guarantee.

This means that you still get a full refund within the first 30 days. But, if you find the service not suitable, you can cancel anytime and receive a prorated amount back for the remaining time you’ve prepaid.

However, there are a few snags.

The first is that any refund request past the initial 120 days is issued through PayPal. Another is that ‘additional’ services like domain registrations, setup, or migration fees are nonrefundable. You get to keep anything that’s not refunded, though, for example, your domain name.

7. Green Web Hosting

A2 Hosting’s hometown of Ann Arbor, Michigan, is known as “Tree Town.” They reportedly have 50,000+ trees and 150+ parks. So A2 feels a moral obligation to help protect the planet from global warming.

A2 Hosting Green Web Hosting display

They have partnered with Carbonfund.org to help support renewable energies and reforestation. They also have a “FutureServe” green hosting initiative in place to help offset emissions from their servers.

This probably isn’t a deciding factor to sign up for a web host. But, knowing the company you’re working with cares about the environment is a nice extra perk.

Cons of Using A2 Hosting


A2 Hosting has many perks going for them, but we also found a few issues.

Here’s a look at each of these downsides in detail.

1. Slow Customer Support

A2 Hosting provides 24/7 support through live chat, email, ticketing, and phone. They also have a vast knowledge base if you prefer to find an answer yourself or learn something new.

Sounds good, right?

However, there is a catch.

Their live chat support option is only available for registered clients. This has been a recent change, because not a long time ago, live chat was available for everyone who visited their homepage. So, basically, if you’re still looking around and don’t have an account with A2 Hosting, then you’ll only have the email, phone, or ticketing options available.

We logged in to our client area and reached out to live chat. However, the first message that we saw was that our estimated waiting time is 26 minutes! That’s a long time considering that it usually takes an average of fewer than five minutes to connect with a live chat customer rep. However, we decided to give them a chance and stayed connected.

A2 Hosting live chat queue

We waited about 10 minutes when the customer rep reached out and another 10 minutes to finally reply to our simple technical question with a link.

A2 hosting live chat reply

In total it took us about 20 minutes to get an answer to a very easy technical question.

2. High Renewal Rates (And a 15-Day Deadline)

A2 Hosting offers lower prices with long-term plans. They also have introductory prices with their plans when signing your first term with them, which lowers the regular price for more than half.

This sweet deal ends after the initial period when the automatic renewal kicks in at the “regular” pricing. The renewal pricing is roughly double the monthly average price you first paid.

It gets worse.

According to their terms, you have to submit a written cancellation request “15 days before the beginning of the Renewal Term” through their customer portal or by emailing them at billing@a2hosting.com.

What happens if you miss this 15-day window? You will be on the hook for paying the next renewal plan, which will renew automatically, and you’re not eligible to receive any refund.

3. Restrictions on the Cheapest Plan

The introductory price for A2 Hosting’s cheapest shared hosting option (“Startup”) is currently $2.99/month (66% off the regular price). That’s not the lowest pricing we’ve seen, but it’s pretty good.

But, there are multiple restrictions to that lowest costing plan. You only get a single website, 100GB of SSD storage, and there are missing features like automatic backups and server rewind. The next tier plan already gives you unlimited websites and SSD storage, free automatic backups, and 2x more resources, starting at $4.99/month.

It makes you wonder if the cheapest plan is just there to promote a low price when the actual useful features for creating a site start at a bit more expensive plan.

The same issue applies to their website builder plan. The cheapest option with the same price of $2.99/month only gets you a single page — not nearly enough to create an actual website.

A2 Hosting Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

A2 Hosting has four pricing tiers for its shared hosting:


Startup Plan Drive Plan Turbo Boost Plan Turbo Max Plan
Pricing $2.99/month
Renews at $8.99/mo
$4.99/month
Renews at $11.99/mo
$9.99/month
Renews at $19.99/mo
$14.99/month
Renews at $24.99/mo
Websites 1 Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Storage 100GB Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• 2x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins
5x Server Resources
• Automatic Backups
• Site Accelerator
• Chacing Plugins

Quick Facts

  • Website migration: 1 migration included.
  • Free Features: SSL, CDN, and DNS.
  • Ease of Signup: Three-step signup. Not too difficult.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal, Check or Money Order, Bank Transfer, Skrill, UnionPay, and PayU Latam.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Renewal rates are higher than the introductory period. You have to cancel 15 days before the renewal period; otherwise, you’ll get automatically charged. Domain name purchases are not refundable.
  • Upsells: Some subtle upsells along the signup process.
  • Account Activation: Instant Activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): The option to install WordPress and other popular CMSs option is available at checkout.

Do We Recommend A2 Hosting?

Yes, we do.

A2 Hosting has consistently delivered best-in-class speed for the last several years. They’ve also improved on server uptime, which is now more reliable. Moreover, all their shared plans come with a free SSL certificate and one free migration.

And if you run into issues at any time while being a customer, you can ask for a refund on the prorated balance of unused time.

The only significant downside is slow customer support. However, it shouldn’t be a huge problem, if you’re patient enough.

We also don’t like that renewal rates are high, and the strict terms after the initial period aren’t generous. Plus, if you’re paying for the most expensive shared plan to host unlimited websites (“Turbo Max”), they still only give you one free site migration.

Visit www.A2Hosting.com


Have you used A2 Hosting before? Please consider leaving a review below — good or bad — doesn’t really matter as long it’s helpful to our visitors.

92 user reviews for A2 Hosting

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Raul B

    5  — November 20, 2020

    Support Team

    Excellent support team as always! I’ve been working with A2 for the last 7 years and the support team is one of the big points of customer satisfaction.

    Pamela L

    5  — August 31, 2020

    A2Hosting is 5 Star!

    I can’t say how impressed I am with A2Hosting. They bill in my country’s currency which is a big plus. They are quick when calling for support. Patience, professionalism, and skill is much appreciated when you are at your wits end with a tech issue. I migrated over from Siteground and it was the best move I could have made. Please know that good customer and tech support is what will always put you ahead of the competition. Keep up the great work. I look forward to being a longtime customer and promoter of A2Hosting!

    Ginny P

    5  — July 26, 2020

    Satisfied customer

    The entire team at A2hosting have been incredibly supportive since I was referred to them by my web designer, Josh Okun. We both feel confident and at ease to know that either one of us can reach out at any time with any troubleshooting issues or questions in order for everything to work smoothly and without any worries. I would recommend A2hosting to anyone.

    Wishing them much success!

    Ginny Palmer

    Mark S

    5  — July 23, 2020

    Awsome

    Very responsive sales and support staff. And a pleasure to work with. Above all, their hosting works just as promised.

    Margaret S

    5  — July 8, 2020

    Fast Servers, Great Support

    I’ve had continuous uptime for the duration of my time with them (several years) and fast servers. Any issues have been resolved quickly by support. Good prices and I can’t complain about anything. Highly recommended.

    Wendy M

    5  — April 14, 2020

    Best Hosting for my Site Yet!

    I elected to switch hosts at renewal time to another company 2 weeks ago. After 16 chats and multiple dropped calls they couldn’t figure out why my site couldn’t publish from my site backup. I requested a refund and parted ways.

    After doing a bit of research I found A2 hosting. I fell in love with the sales team on my first call. Bre walked me through the navigation and told me where to find the site migration so I could get started right away. Once I submitted my request, a member of the migration team emailed to confirm details and I got follow-up emails progress reports. My site was up and running in less than 12 hours and no down time!

    This is the smoothest web transfer I have ever done! So impressed with the knowledge of the tech and migration teams. Great communication and my site is so much faster than with my previous host, especially on my phone!

    Sidney R

    4  — April 5, 2020

    Fastest support in the business

    Their support department has the fastest response time I’ve ever experienced with a hosting provider. They always offer a clear and concise answer to my problem. A2Hosting continues to amaze me with its focus on outstanding customer service.

    William K

    4  — March 21, 2020

    A2Hosting has the best offerings

    I have a love hate relationship with a2Hosting. Normally their servers (I have 2 swift servers) provide excellent WordPress responsiveness but from time to time, for reasons I have yet to figure out, their Firewall prevents the iMac I use to access the WordPress dashboard from accessing my site. It’s irritating, frustrating but manageable. By that I mean, I get locked out and I’m unhappy but I’m able to submit a trouble ticket that’s handled very quickly and the issue is resolved quickly. So other than that I’m extremely satisfied with their offerings.

    Terry

    1  — January 29, 2020

    A2 Support is nearly non-existent!!

    A2 has repeatedly failed to respond to tickets and any updates I’ve provided on those open tickets. Chat, phone calls and ticket updates are worthless.

    I’ve had tickets open for months with no resolution – terrible, terrible customer service.

    I’ve called them and been on hold for 45 minutes before finally selecting the option to leave a voicemail with my contact info, and both times I selected that option they never called me back. Only option was to wait on hold for nearly an hour and finally talk to someone.

    I’m now on a chat, have been waiting 18 minutes, finally got someone to interface with me and got the same old response… “Thank you for waiting. Your ticket is being handled by the service assurance team. I escalated the ticket to them. They will follow up with you shortly. We apologize for the delayed response.”

    Mark S

    1  — October 10, 2019

    Avoid This Company

    We had signed on A2 as a hosting company for our dedicated sites though our IT company. In April, 2019 the server crashed. Our development team was doing some coding work on the server and all of the data on the site was lost. A2 had no back-up and no redundancies for our account. Fortunately we had not migrated all of our sites to the server or we would have been dark. For two weeks we waited to see what A2 was going to do to recover the data and get us back up on a new server and nothing. They completely ignored our IT provider who had set up the contracted hosting. We have since moved everything to a different hosting company and had to rebuild all of the development at a cost of over $2K. All attempts to get A2 to compensate us for this have been ignored and they never even got a new server up and running for us. So our experience was actually negative stars. I am sharing this so others do not have the same experience.

    Jason D

    1  — September 24, 2019

    Site was down for 18 days

    In April of 2019 they had a malware attack and my website was down for 18 days. I guess it’s a good thing I didn’t have an e-commerce site, otherwise I would have been out of business. The CEO never even made a statement and never addressed anyone’s concerns. Then they want me to pay double what I paid for the first year for the second year. This company seems like they can’t handle problems when they arise. Go with another hosting company.

    Thomas

    1  — August 19, 2019

    Server overload with a simple Joomla Shop and 10 visitors per day

    We have a very simple Joomla Webshop with about 50 articles and about 10 Visitors per Day.

    We tried to host it with a Silver Reseller Hosting on A2 Hosting – and all our reseller hosting websites were offline some days offline for about 20 minutes.

    After many E-Mails with the support, they wrote that they have a n I/O Limit of just 2500 KB/s. Thats too low for Joomla with a small Shop.

    We host exactly the same Shop on Dathorn, it has just 10 times more articles and visitors – and it runs rock solid. No downtime since many years.

    Tom B

    5  — August 12, 2019

    Billing Issues quickly resolved

    We needed a simple hosted FTP site. Setup was pretty simple and straightforward. There were a couple of billing issues we had after adding a dedicated IP address to our site. These issues were quickly and satisfactorily resolved. Very happy.

    Mr V

    5  — August 9, 2019

    Very Happy

    Disclaimer: I use to be a web developer

    So I am more than technical enough to navigate myself through a CPanel. But so far very happy with A2. Again, I don’t have to contact technical support for technical issues (installing , SSl, etc..) I am also very comfortable via SSH (terminal). I can stall my own tools. I have not encountered any problem in almost 2 months. My sites are running fast and so far no downtime issues. I only contacted support once for a billing issue and they credited me ASAP.

    I am on a shared plan. I run like 100 cron jobs a night not sure what more I can say. I was running my own dedicated server for over 10 years but got too much to maintain. Worst case scenario, if I hit my resource limit on shared, I’ll discuss with them to migrate to VPS, we’ll see.

    One thing for sure I can recommend is… when looking for a shared host, check the cap on the db limit. You will quite likely use a MySQL (MariaDB) database. A lot of hosting companies will keep a separate cap on database resources (and then they have the right to). But A2 does not, so it grows with your plan which is awesome because I migrated a database that has over 5GBs.

    Vince S

    1  — July 25, 2019

    Awful support

    They may be good at Linux hosting, but avoid them for Windows hosting. My clients websites have been down several times, sometimes weeks at a time. Currently struggling with email problems. Emails are not being delivered and not bouncing. The sender nor receiver know that anything is wrong. It’s just a black hole. A2’s response? “We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.”

    Anand P

    5  — July 17, 2019

    Reliable server, great support

    A2 Hosting and support quality is better than the other popular web hosts I have tried over the past few years. The server speed is good and security is definitely a notch above its competitors. Adding a free SSL certificate is a breeze. I definitely recommend this to users fed up of other underperforming web hosts..

    Alex

    1  — June 13, 2019

    Worst Hosting

    My experience with A2 hosting has been worst. In the last 6 months the services were down for more than a month continuously in April – May 2019, since then there is not a day without any issue. Since 11 June 2019 Database servers are down making it impossible to run a word-press or any dynamic website. The response from customer care is frustrating. Even if they are not responding for a money back on discontinuing the service so that I can switch to some better service provider. MY SUGGESTION IS NEVER GO WITH A2 HOSTING.

    Cody S

    1  — June 1, 2019

    Very poor level of technical support

    Very slow to respond to support tickets. Their online chat – forget about it – unless you have a couple hours to spare and wait in line. On the weekends, I am not even convinced there is a person on the other end. Just today – I was the 12th person in queue – after 1 hour – I was 5 in queue. I believe the only reason the queue moves is people get disheartened and give up. Right now – in a last ditch attempt to get support, I am on hold (30 minutes in) – no sign of life at the other end. This isn’t the first issue I have had with their support being unreachable. So – if you choose A2 Hosting – consider yourself warned – they are completely under-staffed.

    K

    1  — May 1, 2019

    Completely Destroyed

    I’m a new customer. Its seems that their entire windows system was entirely destroyed and now basically everything else is. I constantly get locked out by their firewall. There is absolutely nothing I can do.

    The site loads faster on some pages (not all) but I’d say being locked out of FTP, not being able to make any changes and waiting several hours for any sort of support wasn’t worth it.

    I would wait a few months before trying this company out. They are pretty screwed up at the moment and totally overworked. If you call through and get a tech worker, you can really tell with some of them that they are overloaded right now (which means understaffed and not equipped for problems).

    Gary H

    1  — April 28, 2019

    Down for six days and counting

    They have been down for six days. Only communication is telling customers that they are bringing servers (I never heard of) back on line. Opened a support ticket two days ago and have gotten no answer! But they did send me a bill for the whole month. They must of brought their billing server online. If they think I am going to pay full services for this level of up time they are mistaken! Six days down with poor communications and no end in site. Some how they got their whole system infected with malware. No communication about this malware and how it infected the systems or what if went after. Just that it happened. Very poor communication and response. They did lie about how their customers are supportive. Give us a break. Their customers are not happy about this and will be looking at other options.