Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

GreenGeeks was founded in 2008 by Trey Gardner, and they’ve now shot up to hosting over 300,000 websites (with data centers in the U.S., Canada, and the Netherlands).

greengeeks hosting review

Trey’s background is important, as he’s worked with eight different web hosting companies, including iPowerweb, iPage, StartLogic, Dot5Hosting, Globat, Lunarpages, Hostpapa, and now GreenGeeks.

On their website, GreenGeeks goes on to make two bold claims:

  • 99.9% uptime
  • 100% customer satisfaction

So what’s the verdict? Do they have excellent, wind-powered uptime and support? Or are their promotional claims just full of hot air?

To see for ourselves, we purchased the GreenGeeks ‘Shared Plan’ and set up a basic WordPress test website to run performance tests for over 12 months.

Read on to find out if GreenGeeks got our recommendation.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 451 ms (December 2019 to November 2020)
UPTIME: 99.95% (December 2019 to November 2020)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat
APPS: WordPress, Joomla, PrestaShop, and WHMCS
FEATURES: Unlimited bandwidth, storage, and email accounts, free domain 1st year, backups, free SSL
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, and Reseller
SITE TRANSFER: Single Free Site Transfer
PRICING: Starting at $2.49/mo (renews at $10.95/mo)

Pros of Using GreenGeeks Hosting


GreenGeeks has a lot of good things going for them. This includes solid uptime, support, and important mission-driven service. Here are the details:

1. Solid Uptime Performance

GreenGeeks has made the bold claim of guaranteed 99.90% uptime.

Have they been able to live up to that claim?

Yes. Our in-depth, 12-month analysis backs this up, showing an average uptime of 99.95%.

During the 12 months of tracking, GreenGeeks had a total of only a bit over four hours of downtime (and 113 outages).

GreenGeeks last 12 month averga speed and uptime data
GreenGeeks average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • November 2020: 99.99%
  • October 2020: 99.99%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 99.96%
  • July 2020: 100%
  • June 2020: 99.78%
  • May 2020: 99.85%
  • April 2020: 99.94%
  • March 2020: 99.90%
  • February 2020: 100%
  • January 2020: 100%
  • December 2019: 99.99%

2. Good Page Loading Time (451 ms)

We also tested GreenGeeks’ page load times during our 12-month review process.

Their speed is better than the industry average, clocking in around 451 ms.

Even though GreenGeeks’ speed has gone slower over the year, it’s still fast enough to get our thumbs up.

GreenGeeks last 12 month average speed data
GreenGeeks’ average speed  | See stats

3. Good Support with Quick Answers

Customer support was the final ‘big’ element to review.

We tested out GreenGeeks’ live chat and were connected to a customer support agent within a minute, who then answered questions quickly and concisely.

GreenGeeks live chat

GreenGeeks also has an extensive knowledge base where users can search for answers to their questions.

That’s a great perk if you prefer self-help over asking a customer service representative for assistance.

GreenGeeks has a ton of different article categories and subcategories to select from, including sales questions, general hosting, reseller hosting, VPS hosting, billing questions, video tutorials, and more.

You can use the search bar in case you can’t find your solution within the above-mentioned categories.

GreenGeeks knowledge base

That way, you always have access to the help you need, even if GreenGeeks’ live chat feature is offline for some reason.

Besides live chat and knowledge base, GreenGeeks also have phone support.

4. Free Domain Name & Website Migration

GreenGeeks offers free domain name registration and transfer. If you get your domain name through them, they will keep it free for as long as you use their services – kind of. See the Cons section for the details.

However, it’s also worth mentioning that the domain name is free for the first year only. After that you’d have to pay the renewal price, starting from $13.95 per year for .com, .net, .org domains.

If your website is already hosted elsewhere, they can help you transfer your site to their servers for free.

5. Environment-Friendly

GreenGeeks claims to be – well – green. What does that mean exactly?

Here’s how they explain it:

GreenGeeks will purchase 3 times the wind energy credits to make up for the energy used by their services to power your website.

They replace more than 615,000 kWh a year. To put that in perspective, the average American consumes 12,000 kWh of electricity per year.

GreenGeeks is a recognized Green Power Partner with the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), too.

GreenGeeks environmental friendly hosting

6. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

If you’re unhappy with moving over to GreenGeeks, they have a full 30-day, ‘no-questions-asked’ money-back guarantee on most hosting plans.

There are a few exceptions, though. Read more in the Cons section.

7. Nightly Backups

Sometimes, bad things happen.

Maybe it’s self-inflicted, or it could be someone with malicious intent trying to hack their way in. Regardless, GreenGeeks provides free nightly backups (in addition to SSH access). This way, you can sleep soundly, knowing that even if something goes wrong, your data is backed up regularly.

For additional security measures, they also offer real-time security scanning, automatic brute force detection, Spam Assassin protection, SSL secure server, and the ability to password-protect your directories.

8. Multiple High-Quality Server Locations

GreenGeeks offers data centers in four locations:

  • Chicago, US
  • Phoenix, US
  • Montreal, CA
  • Amsterdam, NL

Choosing the right server location can have a huge, positive impact on your website’s SEO. Plus, if you pick a server closer to you, you’ll experience faster speeds.

GreenGeeks also promises customers that they will keep servers up to date with the following specifications:

  • Never oversold
  • Gigabit Connectivity
  • The Latest Generation Energy-efficient Intel Xeon processors
  • Minimum of 64 GB DDR3 ECC-Registered Memory
  • No desktop hardware whatsoever
  • BGP4 Gigabit connectivity to several Fiber GigE Tier 1 Backbones
  • Name brand server parts
  • RAID-10 SSD Storage Arrays to give you maximum performance & redundancy
  • Solid State Drive (SSD) Acceleration

So you can be sure with GreenGeeks that your data is stored on high-quality, state of the art servers.

9. Free CDN

Everyone interacts with a Content Delivery Network (CDN) on a daily basis if they browse the web, whether they’re looking at news sites, social media pages, or shopping online.

GreenGeeks offers a CDN to users that are powered by Cloudflare. That’s great news for your site optimization, especially if you’ve got a global reach.

The best part? It’s absolutely free.

Cloudflare allows users to cache content and use servers closest to website visitors to get it delivered. As a result, web surfing is much faster for those who come to your website.

Cons of Using GreenGeeks Hosting


Unfortunately, all that glitters is not gold.

Despite all of the upsides to GreenGeeks, there are a few things you should be aware of before making a final decision.

1. Industry-Standard Pricing (Higher Renewals)

GreenGeeks follows the tried-and-true industry-standard practice of advertising a very low monthly rate of $2.49 on their website, only for you to find out that you actually have to sign up for three years in advance to get it.

Otherwise, if you want to pay monthly, it’ll set you back by $10.95 each month.

2. Questionable Refund Policy

Many web hosts will throw in a domain name for free when you create a new account with them.

GreenGeeks also offers you a free domain name with them.

Otherwise, the cost might range from ~$3.00 – $9.99 for the year.

But be aware of the fine print:

If you request the aforementioned money-back guarantee and you took them up on that ‘free’ domain name offer, your refund will be deducted by $24.95 for a domain name registration fee.

This means that the domain name is not really free and that their money-back guarantee has some strings attached.

GreenGeeks Pricing, Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Here’s a quick overview of the shared hosting plans offered by GreenGeeks:


Lite Plan Pro Plan Premium Plan
Pricing $2.49/month
Renews at $10.95/mo
$4.95/month
Renews at $15.95/mo
$8.95/month
Renews at $25.95/mo
Websites 1 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • PowerCacher • Dedicated IP
• PowerCacher
• Premium Wildcard SSL

WordPress Hosting: Their WordPress hosting is basically the same as their shared hosting plan, but it seems to be especially enhanced for WordPress. We haven’t tested it yet but will do it soon.

Quick Facts

  • Free domain? Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Easy signup process.
  • Money-Back: 30-days money-back guarantee.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, PayPal.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Your account must not use more than 100 percent of 1 CPU core and/or 1GB memory, or 20 concurrent connections, or 75,0000 files, or you will risk account suspension. If a due invoice is not paid within four days, your account will be suspended and you will need to pay a reactivation fee of $15 to have your account back online.
  • Upsells: No upsells.
  • Account Activation: Quick account activation.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): 1-click install tool to easily install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend GreenGeeks?

Yes, we do.

GreenGeeks has a bigger mission than just simply providing web hosting, and we like that.

They’re not necessarily the best we’ve seen, but they do provide solid speed, uptime, and good customer support.

For those reasons, you should consider giving them a look.

Just be aware that you’ll need to sign up for the long-term if you’d like their lowest rate. And that your ‘free domain’ and ‘money-back guarantee’ might not be so iron-clad if you decide to ask for a refund.

Visit www.GreenGeeks.com


Do you have any experience with GreenGeeks – positive or negative? If so, please leave a transparent and honest review below!

127 user reviews for GreenGeeks

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Hayden B

    5  — November 12, 2020

    Proud to Go Green with Green Geeks

    The timely support, the clean interface, the numerous help blog posts, and what Green Geeks stand for in attempting to make things as green as possible. These are just a few reasons, I am actually proud to use GreenGeeks for my Hosting.

    Beth S

    5  — November 7, 2020

    A+++ Support

    GreenGeeks has a wonderful support team. Whenever I’ve had a question they’ve answered it quickly and with links to articles that will help. They have a great system. I’ve dealt with other hosts and have not found any that offer the support GreenGeeks does.

    Melanie W

    5  — October 15, 2020

    Great ‘green’ service for beginners to websites

    As a total beginner with no experience in building websites, I needed an easy-to-use and affordable service for a personal project focused on social sustainability, ideally including WordPress and the domain as part of the hosting package. I found Green Geeks to be the ideal solution. The environmentally friendly aspect of running on renewable energy caught my attention immediately given that I work in environmental sustainability. After a bit of online research and talking to a few people who had varying degrees of experience in building websites I went ahead. Overall, I found it quite intuitive. The 3-year option to secure the USD 2,95 / month offer is not ideal, but I understand the business model and so far I’ve been happy with the service. I’ve had to use support once in the beginning and it was efficient.

    David W

    5  — October 13, 2020

    Nothing beats it!

    Not only is GreenGeeks’ environmentally-sustainable business model virtually impossible to beat, but the company’s employees are very responsive to any requests or concerns. I’ve used them for one site or another over the last several years and rarely have an issue. The only downside I can see: the “dashboard” isn’t quite as user-friendly as GoDaddy’s, but that’s easily forgiven 😉

    Mark M

    5  — July 30, 2020

    Meets My Needs

    My website is a repository of my creative work. I am not doing ecommerce or mass emailing. GreenGeeks has been excellent for my needs. I appreciate the fact that they are using renewable power and any issues I have encountered have been addressed quickly and with courtesy.

    Andrew G

    5  — July 20, 2020

    No-nonsense Green

    Would definitely recommend GreenGeeks based on the service I have had. Had a website and domain set up and running in no time flat. GreenGeeks has been a very simple, no-nonsense hosting service to use and it’s carbon footprint guarantee is a bonus.

    Lorna C

    1  — May 22, 2020

    Awful – Buyer beware

    I haven’t set up my website yet but used my storage (which is supposed to be unlimited) to back up a couple of files. We’re not talking about a huge amount here. They called me out on ‘backing stuff up’ and pointed to their ‘fine print’ that says I’m not allowed to do this (they actually went through my uploaded content and stated names of folders). Unfortunately I’ve signed up to 3 very long years with this company because they offered what looked like a good deal (mmm…only good if it is fit for purpose!).

    It looks like I may have to ‘bite the bullet’ and just move back to 1 & 1 (IONOS) who I thought were brilliant. I only went with Greengeeks because of their carbon footprint claims but if they are not fit for purpose then I’ll use the good ones. I will be using their platform for something (as I’ve paid for 3 very long and no doubt painful years) but I doubt it’ll be for my main business stuff. Buyer beware!! I’ve given 1 star because I don’t think 0 stars is an option! Oh and they escalated me to ‘Abuse – Escalations’ when there was nothing abusive about my complaint. I was just a very unhappy customer! All I can say is ‘you live and learn’. And lessons learnt!

    Chris

    5  — May 20, 2020

    Reliable Company with Great Support

    I have a web designer and made the switch a couple of years ago to Green Geeks from GoDaddy. The service is much more reliable, the price is comparable, and the support is infinitely better. I have close to 20 sites hosted on Green Geeks now.

    George S

    2  — May 8, 2020

    Beware!

    Not bad for small sites, but remember, ‘Unlimited bandwidth, storage’ doesn’t actually mean ‘unlimited’.

    One of my sites uses 93Gb of storage on the ‘pro’ plan, and they just took it down, insisting that I either remove about 50Gb or upgrade to their ‘premium’ plan.

    Thirty days after they’ve taken your money you have no recourse. You’ve been warned.

    John E

    5  — April 24, 2020

    Best performance, value, and uptime

    Green Geeks has provided great service for me and my clients over the last several years and have never had an issue with them. They are priced fairly, the support (if you ever need it) is rapid, and the hosting specs are phenomenal. To top it all off, they’re environmentally conscious which is an added benefit.

    Jeffery S

    5  — April 6, 2020

    Excellent service, excellent value

    We’ve been using GreenGeeks for around 5 years or more and they have consistently met and exceeded our expectations. Their service is excellent and very responsive and their prices are very reasonable.

    Kevin

    5  — March 30, 2020

    Super-fast, super-helpful, and super-accurate support

    Super-fast, super-helpful, and super-accurate support. Without fail, you guys respond to and fix my website issues. You also had a great, no-hassle, introductory package that got me signed up. I have zero regrets and nothing but admiration for you guys. I sure as hell would NOT want to compete with you! 🙂

    Rodolfo

    5  — March 26, 2020

    Good hosting

    I’ve been using GreenGeeks since 2009, I have a reseller account, during that time I have no issues with them, and the issues I had with the accounts (due to too many failed logins) were solved by them really fast, so the support is good. I like the fact that they charge for the things you’re gonna get, other hosts have hidden features and other charges. I’ve tried others because I use ASP too and most of them I have hidden charges.

    GreenGeeks is good, I’m proof of it with 11 years with them.

    Now they have Let’s Encrypt certificates that you can enable from your account, no need to ask the support.

    I hope that soon they start with Asp.Net Core on their Linux servers.

    Luis G

    5  — March 11, 2020

    Great guys

    I have been a customer for years, live chatted through issues in minutes, uptime is great, speed is awesome. I have no complaints whatsoever. I am a night owl and contact live chat at the weirdest hours. They are always there for me. I host a very large site and a few small ones, no problems at all. Also, the people working the live chat know everything and act immediately, no service tickets waiting for hours, you ask for it and it’s done. Thanks greengeeks.

    Hagen P

    5  — February 24, 2020

    Lightning fast & smart support

    As a part-time webmaster, I’ve been with some other providers over the decades. To me, the most important thing is a fast chat response time and competent staff, when I have a problem. I need to have my problem solved instantaneously and not “waiting for the next agent” I have never been disappointed by GreenGeeks. I ALWAYS was connected to an agent within 2 minutes and most of the time even within 1 minute. And ALWAYS my problems got resolved. Including answering my sometimes most basic, stupid questions.

    Thank you GreenGeeks!
    Keep up the great work, and I’ll stick with you. It’s that simple!

    Amit G

    5  — February 14, 2020

    Awesome Service

    I have been with GreenGeeks for more than 6+ years now and have enjoyed hosting my services with them

    The technical support team is wonderful and are very much reachable and responsive. The uptime has been great.

    Would highly recommend GreenGeeks to all !!!!!

    Michael

    5  — February 5, 2020

    Terrible billing and customer support

    Do not sign with this company. I called the billing department to find out if I needed to keep a credit card on file, and I spoke to an extremely unprofessional salesperson who kept changing his answers. After asking multiple times for a straight answer, first he said yes, but then he said, “I won’t answer that question. You have to open a ticket.” I eventually asked for a manager, and she finally told me completely different information than the sales and billing department.

    Amy

    5  — January 30, 2020

    Awesome!

    I currently have 2 wordpress blogs and a Moodle VLE hosted with GreenGeeks. I had issues with my previous hosting company; my website was up and down due to DDoS attacks and the customer support was slow. It started to impact my work and I needed to move away!

    The initial appeal of moving to GreenGeeks was the use of green energy. After some research and a few chat sessions with sales I decided that GreenGeeks was the way to go and I’ve not looked back! GreenGeeks helped me with my website migration, they kept me in the loop and the service was super fast. The support I’ve received has been quick and the support team are really friendly (I’m sure I’ve logged some very stupid questions).

    I feel happy knowing that my website is secure and in safe hands and that the team are there if I need anything.

    Marvin

    5  — January 28, 2020

    Just Research Everything And Everybody

    What I’ve experienced with Green Geeks so far is the following;

    1. The support help is Outstanding. 2. Prices are Good/Fair. 3. The services are Very easy to use once a person takes the time to study and read the directions and apply themselves. I’ll admit, I haven’t read fine print like I haven’t with many Hosting Services. THAT’S MY FAULT! And I’m willing to bet, a lot of people don’t either with most hosting servers.

    Purchasing anything, a person should research and study about different Hosting Servers. Do I think any Business is going to be totally open, fair and honest? NO! But hell, that’s business for you. That’s why you should research and study.

    I’ve tried about 5 others before Green Geeks (a couple even cheaper) but I chose Green Geeks for the 3 reasons I stated above. That doesn’t mean you’ll have the same experience with them. I’m suggesting to try them out until you find out otherwise. (If they don’t satisfy you, then you learn a good lesson which will help you in further endeavors. So it’s not a total lost). BTW, I’m not campaigning for or against Green Geeks.

    I can only speak from the good experience I’ve had with them so far. It still all boils down to what is best for you and what you can afford. So far, Green Geeks have proven themselves to me.

    Until I have trouble with Green Geeks (which may possibly be resolved if people would honestly try to see one another’s point of views and see things for what they really are) I’ll stay with them and refer them to others.

    Hope this helps, I’m still learning. Not only about Hosting but, Life in General!

    Peace!

    Marvin

    Octavio

    5  — January 27, 2020

    Very pleased

    After one good year and four years during which our old hosting service went from mediocre to bad to worse, we had to switch. Among several others, we found GreenGeeks. They had a great price with an even better sign-up offer. But what swayed us was that they are environmentally conscious… as is our small business.

    We’ve only been with GreenGeeks for a few months, but we have nothing but positive things to say. We’ve had virtually no downtime. The email service has been seamless.

    While we can’t make stellar comments about the staff, it’s not because they aren’t stellar, but because we’ve not needed their help. And it goes without saying… good help is great when you have a problem, but not having a problem at all is even better!