Disclosure: This content is reader-supported. If you click on our links, we may earn a commission.
Avatar

Brad Smith

Hosting Reviewer

HostPapa hosts over 500,000 websites on its data centers in the US and Canada.

That’s impressive considering they’ve only been around since 2006 (founded by Jamie Opalchuck).hostpapa review

One potential explanation for their meteoric rise could be their various customer service options, offering phone support in a few different languages including English, French, Spanish, and German to both domestic and international clients.

They must be doing something right to have grown so quickly over the past few years.

In order to find out, we purchased the HostPapa ‘Starter Plan’ and set-up a simple WordPress website to monitor their uptime and speed over an extended period of time.

Did HostPapa perform well enough to get our recommendation?

Read on to find out.

General Info & Hosting Overview


Our Rating:

Our Verdict: 4.5

SPEED: 565 ms (February 2020 to January 2021)
UPTIME: 99.99% (February 2020 to January 2021)
SUPPORT: 24/7 Live Chat, Phone, Email, Mail, Fax, and Knowledge Base
APPS: 1-Click Installs for WordPress, Joomla, Drupal+Softaculous App Installer for 400+ Apps
FEATURES: Unlimited Bandwidth, 100 GB Storage, Two Websites, Free Domain Registration, 100 Email Accounts, SpamAssassin, Free SSL Certificate, cPanel, 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee,
HOSTING PLANS: Shared, WordPress, VPS, and Reseller Hosting
SITE TRANSFER: Free
PRICING: Starting at $2.95/mo (renews at $9.99/mo)

Pros of Using HostPapa Hosting


Upon signing up, we were excited to see what makes them tick. What could possibly cause such a quick ascent?

At first, we were pleasantly surprised by their great uptime (as you’ll see). They also offer a plethora of customer support options to choose from.

So far so good! But can they live up to the hype? Let’s take a look.

1. Great Uptime 99.99%

We’re happy to report that HostPapa’s uptime has been good since day one.

They’ve posted a 12-month average of 99.99% uptime with only an hour of downtime.

While it sounds trite and obvious, you’d be surprised just how many web hosts struggle with the most foundational element of actually hosting a website — keeping the damn thing live!

HostPapa last 12-month uptime and speed
HostPapa average uptime | See stats

Last 12-month average uptime:

  • January 2021: 99.99%
  • December 2020: 100%
  • November 2020: 99.99%
  • October 2020: 99.97%
  • September 2020: 100%
  • August 2020: 100%
  • July 2020: 100%
  • June 2020: 100%
  • May 2020: 100%
  • April 2020: 99.94%
  • March 2020: 99.96%
  • February 2020: 100%

HostPapa’s uptime is on the same level as SiteGround’s uptime. Not bad.

2. Good Page Loading Speed

HostPapa’s uptime was great and their page loading speed is also decent.

Over the last 12 months, they had an average page load time of posting 565 ms, which is fast enough to have a place in our pros section.

HostPapa Speed Feb 2020 - Jan 2021
HostPapa average speed See stats

Also, HostPapa’s loading time has been very steady throughout the whole year.

Again, not as fast as A2 Hosting or Hostinger, but definitely faster than many others.

3. Extensive Support Options

HostPapa offers extensive support options to help customers in a variety of ways.

You can browse their huge library of self-help videos. They offer 24/7 support through phone, mail, email, ticketing, live chat, and even fax (!).

hostpapa support options

They provide phone support in 18 countries (which might be the most we’ve seen from any company). They’re one of the only hosts to provide support in different languages, including English, French, Spanish, and German.

As if that’s not enough, they also provide an interesting support feature allowing you to connect in a one-on-one session with ‘Papa Squad Experts’, which are essentially guided walkthroughs using video or telephone conference.

We also tested out their live chat and received a response in less than a minute from their support staff. Answers to questions were provided within a modest two minutes.

hostpapa live chat

4. Proactive Security Features

HostPapa’s shared hosting plans come with Panda Cloud antispam protection enabled, as well as a server firewall, monitoring, and intrusion detection. Over 37,000 websites get hacked daily, so HostPapa’s proactive security measures are reassuring.

Their Business Pro plan also comes with additional features including domain privacy protection, a free SSL certificate, a dedicated IP address, and automated website backups.

The last thing you need to worry about is security details like spam protection. It’s nice to have someone else watch your back.

5. 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee & Free Site Migration

HostPapa offers an industry-standard 30-day money-back guarantee for most of their hosting plans.

In addition, they’ll gladly help you transfer an existing website from another host (while also throwing in a free domain name too).

6. Good Value for the Starter Price

HostPapa’s basic pricing starts at $2.95 for the first three years.

The good news is that they do throw in a lot of value for this initial pricing. You get two websites, compared to just one that most other hosts offer. You also get free domain registration, 100GB SSD storage, and unmetered bandwidth.

Pretty good, right?

But that’s not all. You’ll also get their “Essential Features” which includes a free website migration, Cloudflare CDN, SSL certificate, and access to their 400+ apps and website builder.

So overall, it’s a pretty good value. Other hosts would make you pay for this stuff, easily pushing the monthly price up well above this initial $2.95/month range.

Cons of Using HostPapa Hosting


HostPapa started out strong, delivering fast page loading speed and uptime. Moreover, their customer support is knowledgeable and polite.

However, there are some downsides that need to be mentioned.

Take a look.

1. High Renewal Prices

HostPapa entry price starts at $2.95/month with a three-year commitment. As mentioned before they offer a good value for that price.

However, once the initial period ends, you’d have to pay double the price. For example, the cheapest Starter Plan will renew at $9.99/month, Business Plan at $14.99/month, and Business Pro Plan at $23.99/month. And that’s with a three-year commitment, which means you’d have to pay a lot of money in advance.

Seeing the renewal prices and features offered with that cost, the money-value ratio doesn’t seem so good anymore.

Overview of HostPapa Hosting Plans & Quick Facts

Below is a quick overview of HostPapa’s three shared hosting plans.

Please note: Pricing tends to fluctuate often, and these low advertised prices required a three-year sign-up.


Starter Plan Business Plan Business Pro Plan
Pricing $2.95/month
Renews at $9.99/mo
$2.95/month
Renews at $14.99/mo
$11.95/month
Renews at $23.99/mo
Websites 2 Unlimited Unlimited
Bandwidth Unmetered Unmetered Unmetered
Storage 100GB Unmetered Unmetered
Email Accounts Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Other Features • Unlimited MYSQL Databases
• 2x More CPU and MYSQL Resources
• 4x More CPU and MYSQL Resources
• Domain Privacy
• Automated Website Backup
• Premium Wildcard SSL and SiteLock Detect

Quick Facts

  • Free Domain: Yes.
  • Ease of Signup: Very easy signup process.
  • Payment Methods: Credit Card, Paypal.
  • Money-Back: 30-day money-back guarantee.
  • Hidden Fees and Clauses: Advertised price is only for the first payment term. Renewals are much more expensive. You will be charged a setup fee of $29.99 if you make use of their refund policy.
  • Upsells: A few upsells.
  • Account Activation: Activation can take a while.
  • Control Panel and Dashboard Experience: cPanel.
  • Installation of Apps and CMSs (WordPress, Joomla, etc.): One-click installer to install popular apps and CMSs.

Do We Recommend HostPapa?

Yes, we do.

Hostpapa has improved its service quite a bit over the past year.

Their uptime is almost perfect and loading time is fast. They have a ton of different support options available, and we personally had a positive experience.

The only downside is their high renewal prices. However, if money is not an issue, then Hostpapa is a good option for you.

Visit www.HostPapa.com


Best alternatives for HostPapa:

Further reading: The 10 Best Web Hosting Services (In 2021)


What’s your experience been like with HostPapa? We’d love to hear about it, no matter if it’s positive or negative (as long as it’s transparent and honest).

54 user reviews for HostPapa

Submit a review

Submit a short but detailed review and help others!

    Review Title

    Rating

    Any proof of your experience (optional)

    By clicking the button below, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use.

    We only accept unique web hosting reviews. If your comment/review is published elsewhere, we'll not publish it. Also, please don't use any "bad" words or swearing. Thanks!

    Priti C

    5  — November 18, 2020

    Excellent

    Hostpapa is a superb website/domain service provider. Their assistance for setting up or resolving any issues is unbelievable. They are very quick. I have two websites from them. I have also recommended it to some of my friends.

    Brooke M

    5  — November 18, 2020

    Amazing customer service

    I’ve been with Hostpapa for around 3 years now after using other services in the past, they’re amazing. Whether contacting from the UK or Aus they are always happy to help and have people there on call whenever you need!

    Annemarie O

    5  — November 10, 2020

    Great Tech Support – Thanks!

    I transferred my .com.au domain name to HostPapa and found them really helpful to get everything set up. It did take some time, and a few different contacts back with HostPapa tech support to organise the new redirects and domain name changes, but in the end, they sorted out all my issues and my automatic redirect is working and they are a lot cheaper than I used to pay. Thanks a lot to the team.

    John

    1  — October 15, 2020

    Stay away if you consider yourself intelligent

    I read reviews that said Hostpapa support was great and I believed them. This review is somewhat reflective of some of the experiences I’ve had. Sometimes you will receive a reply from a support request within a few hours. They prefer support via email and usually will answer in about 12 hours. If the support request is brain-dead easy then usually their replies are correct. If it involves even a minute amount of complexity then your support issue can be dragged out for days. If you’re considering Hostpapa to host your business website and you are having issues expect it to be down for days. I’m currently dealing with an issue that is now in it’s 7th day. I’ve received conflicting suggestions on which is the correct setting I should use from different support people. None of them worked. I’ve received the same suggestion fix that failed 2 days ago because the support person couldn’t be bothered to read the support thread. I sometimes will receive a support reply well past midnight. I will reply to that email and then must wait another 24 hours for a response. Twice I’ve been promised a phone call at a specific time and I cancelled plans and waited for the call, but both times no one called. If you tell them you want to purchase one of their products, you will get a call within an hour. They want your money but couldn’t care less about you or your website.

    Steve Z

    5  — October 14, 2020

    Impressive!

    I recently moved my account to Host Papa and was very impressed with both the speed and ease in which my websites were migrated. Fine and attentive tech support and 24/7 online help were greatly appreciated. All in all, a very good experience.

    Martin J

    4  — September 21, 2020

    Reliable service –

    I’ve been using Hostpapa for over five years now. I’ve tried others and been disappointed. Hostpapa has given me good support and provides some useful, efficient facilities. I particularly like their file manager and appreciate the ability to add sub-domains at minimal cost.

    Server performance and reliability is satisfactory. I recommend Hostpapa without reservation

    Ed A

    5  — September 14, 2020

    Personal Website – HostPapa Servers My Needs

    Mine is a personal website, nothing fancy, except that I do use the SQL database functionality for a project. Everything works well. I have had to learn some technical stuff in order to use functionality beyond simple HTML web pages. That said, HostPapa support people have always enthusiastically helped me with my needs.

    I am having issues once in a while with my emails being tagged by antispamcloud.com as spam. It is because I do have a couple of “large” groups that I send emails to. The number of recipients in one group is around 90 and the other is mid-60. As I understand it, antispamcloud.com perceives the volume and frequency as spam. Hostpapa support resolves the issue within about a day. Then, the emails to those recipients using the spam service resumes. I don’t know enough about the spam tagging algorithm to know if I can do anything different to avoid being tagged.

    I am very satisfied with HostPapa for my web hosting service provider!

    Marie

    2  — August 27, 2020

    Get ready for endless emails

    I was a long time customer of LunarPages (10+ years) before HostPapa bought and incorporated them. LP had its issues, especially with customer support, but HostPapa is a completely different story.

    I’m not an advanced user, but I’ve had sites for years, so I know the basics of maintaining them. When my 3yr plan needed renewal during COVID, I asked to be switched to a 3 month plan as a pause.

    That process couldn’t be done via my portal. I had to call, and chat, and email over a good two weeks and still most of the replies were scripted when all I asked for was “Can you switch my plan”.

    Oh, and when I switched back, wow, could they do that SUPER FAST. But be prepared, they will email you 5 times a day, even CALL YOU, though you have two weeks to pay (because I was still on my previous 3 month plan). It was borderline harassment and they emailed saying ‘let us know when you are going to pay and we’ll stop the email blasts.’

    Yeah, they lost me as a renewing customer. After this plan I am out.

    George M

    5  — August 10, 2020

    Top Company

    Message Body: Very friendly and experienced customer and technical support teams. HostPapa offers 30 min training sessions for people who have no experience in building websites.

    Thumbs up!

    Philip S

    4  — July 28, 2020

    Good experience building a new website

    I needed a simple and cost effective website. But I had little experience in pulling a website together. I looked at several review sites (specifically for Australia). I selected Hostpapa as it had all the tools I needed – flexible templates, hosting, ability to obtain a unique domain and the facility to include an email linked to the domain. I checked Hostpapa and 2 other sites before signing up. I looked at templates and costs and read customer reviews.

    Signing up was easy with the basic and most simple plan. I had checked out the ability to get the Domain name I wanted – this was basically the same cost as other host sites I looked at.

    Once I had the Domain name, I was onto building the website. I spent a few hours looking at the templates and selected the one I felt best addressed my needs. Then I built it up – this part was enjoyable and easy, even though I had no experience. I did watch a few Host Papa tutorials to help but most of it was just carefully thinking the steps through.

    On the template, I uploaded my own images, reshaped pages, deleted pages in the template and added others, I changed the font, I altered background colours, I added links. I launched. I could see I needed to change a few things and I was able to do that easily, without losing what I had done.

    The next thing I did was add an email linked to my Domain site. Here I found it a little more confusing, but this was because I had never done anything like this before and I was not familiar with the terminology and the process. Here, I reached out to the HostPapa Tech support – they worked me through the issues promptly and efficiently. It was all sorted in a timely manner. I could not have been more happy with the response, advice and help.

    I’ve only had my website up for 3 days. I’ve been impressed with the service so far and the site I have addresses my needs. The web hosting is for 3 years, I’ll have some annual fees but these seem reasonable. I know after my initial discounted fee it will increase. Based on my experience so far I’d highly recommend HostPapa.

    A B

    1  — July 21, 2020

    Prefers to upsell rather than solve issues

    Technically more or less competent. Minimal downtime.

    However for four small WordPress websites, I’ve had no end of issues, and technical support has been slow and seems to follow a script, despite the fact I sent a detailed list of all the tasks I’ve done over the last 6 months.

    Their philosophy seems more keen to move you to the next most expensive package.

    Happy they refund contracts when there are technical issues but unhappy about the overall process and the fact they won’t refund the credit note from forcing you to upgrade a few months earlier.

    Not recommended, seems unable to host basic wordpress sites, which are fully hardened, hidden, cron jobs over hauled and the website have had most of the content stripped away.

    The final straw was from tech support and i quote “I can see some high CPU and memory usage under your account. This seems mostly related to your WordPress sites.”

    Well yes i only have WordPress sites as part of your WordPress only hosting package.

    Look elsewhere.

    Rod

    1  — July 16, 2020

    Shifting Sands

    I have been using Hostpapa for a few years on a basic hosting/email plan without an issue. A month ago I had someone from their Account Manager dept contact me saying we’re well over our allowed usage levels (Like 10x or more). This came out of the blue…we must have been over for a year or more.. so I asked for upgrade options but these options were basically unaffordable for our small business so I moved things around to reduce the usage levels and comply with their basic plan (500Mb max mailbox size). After I did this they then suspended our account anyway just because I didn’t respond to their email saying we would comply and not upgrade. This caused mass disruption and I had to contact hostpapa support and beg them to re-enable our account. Took about 30-40mins for the services to re-enable. They really need to re-look at their business model. Changing provider..

    Punnadhammo

    5  — June 14, 2020

    Happy Client

    We are a Buddhist Hermitage and Retreat Centre located near Thunder Bay. Our website is important to us for reaching the larger community. About three years ago we were becoming dissatisfied with our previous host and one of our supporters suggested Host Papa. We are now very happy that we made the change. I would specify two main reasons why I like Hostpapa:
    1. Tech Support – Whenever we have had technical problems we found the HostPapa tech people very fast to respond, courteous, knowledgeable and helpful. Having dealt with many tech companies in the past, I know this is rare and valuable.
    2. The Interface – I love the Host Papa interface. It is clean, intuitive and easy to navigate with lots of great features that make managing a web-site a snap. Keep up the good work, Host Papa!

    Nick M

    5  — June 2, 2020

    Well done

    Have not had to confront any hidden charges yet. Hopefully there won’t be any surprises. Upselling is fine. Hostpapa have been very transparent in all the transactions so far and excellent in resolving our issues on time. We were considering another provider who was at least 3 times more expensive. As long as the team at Hostpapa can maintain these high standards, we don’t think we will be moving to a different provider. Well done.

    Jeff V

    4  — June 1, 2020

    Long time, no problems

    I’ve been with HostPapa for at least 9 years (according to the oldest entry in my saved passwords) and we’ve had no significant problems. We’ve been using it more for email than web hosting until recently but no problems on either front.

    I find prices decent and uptime good. If you upgrade your package they will happily apply the balance of your current package to the new one.Since we’ve started my brother and “sister in law” (good friend, wife’s side) have joined as well and haven’t had any issues.

    Sarah D

    5  — May 29, 2020

    Customer Service Never Let Me Down

    I have been hosting my websites with Hostpapa for more than a decade now (almost 2) and I have never had a problem with the cost or the service. In actual fact, the service has been exemplary. I simply create a ticket and a member of the team gets in touch promptly and effectively.

    Allison M

    5  — May 26, 2020

    Excellent Hosting Service

    Host Papa has been hosting my website for years. The uptime is great. On the rare occasion I’ve had a problem, the customer service is great. I have and will continue to recommend them.

    cem a

    5  — May 22, 2020

    Fantastic Customer Service

    We are broadcasting our Istanbul museums for tourism and culture directorate department for almost 6 month or more on this hosting service. Not only their customer service but also the server side process is amazing. I personally used many hosting companies for our government project, like GoDady, amazon and bluehost previous times. They were ok too not to complain much. Hostpapa makes a difference with problem solving orientation and a very good user interface. I recommend their service highly to everyone. thank you.

    Doug R

    5  — May 11, 2020

    Long time customer

    I have been a customer for something like 12 years or so. I haven’t had much need for support over the years because things have always worked as they should, but when I have had questions, their customer service was always amazingly quick and thorough. I am super excited that they are supporting Kiva.org which is one of my favourite organizations. I expect to continue as a Hostpapa customer for a long time.

    Jacqueline

    5  — May 1, 2020

    Fantastic Service!

    I’ve been with HostPapa for my site hosting, from day 1 of starting my business and putting up a website – over 7 years ago now – I had no idea what I was doing and self-taught how to build a site. Back then many, many emails were sent back and forth between me and the team!! They helped me, a total novice set up my whole website using WordPress, and integrate a business email address.

    I only have my website hosted through HostPapa, no additional services.

    I don’t understand the negative reviews here, sounds really odd. I’ve had nothing but fantastic service from them. I rarely need support these days but when I do they’re an email away and they get back promptly! I have never experienced “hidden fees” or any problem in their service delivery.

    Thank you HostPapa, I’m glad I found you straight off the bat and very grateful for your support and service.